Designers, Models and Mentors Celebrate the 2009 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards

Grace Coddington, Alber Elbaz, Karen Elson

The CFDA and Vogue magazine held the sixth CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund awards ceremony last night at Skylight Studios, where Sophie Theallet beat out Alabama Chanin’s Natalie Chanin, Esquivel Shoes’ George Esquivel, Gary Graham, House of Waris’ Waris Ahluwalia, Monique Pean, Ohne Titel’s Flora Gill and Alexa Adams, Patrik Ervell, Spurr’s Simon Spurr and Wayne’s Wayne Lee. Theallet took home the grand prize—$200,000 and a year of mentorship by an industry veteran. Runners-up, Monique Pean and Patrik Ervell will each receive $50,000 and a business mentor.

Cathy Horyn for one feels Theallet deserved the honor, writing this morning, "Her clothes are not flashy or arty; she’s not everybody’s darling. But if you appreciate hand-done details like pin-tucking, if you like a certain friendliness in clothes, and if you’re surprised and delighted by non-generic reds and blues, then you are surely on Sophie’s side."

Albertus Swanepoel, Irene Neuwirth, Philip Crangi, Michael and Nicole Colovos, Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, Peter Som, Lisa Mayock, Sophie Buhai, and Thakoon Panichgul were among the former fashion fund-ers who came out for the big night; joining Nicole Kidman, Francisco Costa, Anna Wintour, Diane von Furstenberg, and keynote speaker Alber Elbaz.

New York 11/16/09 Getty, WireImage